ICT Quiz, programmes

CITAD Holds 6th Annual ICT Quiz for Secondary Schools

The 6th Annual inter-secondary schools computer quiz organized by the Centre for Information Technology and Development (CITAD) will hold on Friday, 28th and Saturday, 29th, November, 2008 at the Auditorium of School of Technology, Kano State Polytechnic, Kano. The objectives of the Quiz are to sensitize the school communities to the need for computers, encourage students to take computer studies seriously and aid advocacy on the need for school proprietors and governments to provide computers to schools.

About 50 schools from different parts of the nine states will be competing for the various prizes to be won at the competition. These include a new laptop for first place position, a new compute set for second place position and a refurnished computer for third place winners. Other prizes are a television set for the overall best student, a radio set for the best female participant and a scanner for the teacher of the best schools. Additionally, all participants will get a participation prize of two computer books each other are also other supporting prizes such flash memories, scholarships for training for both teachers and students of the participating schools

Last year 30 secondary schools from Kano, Jigawa, Bauchi and Katsina States took part in the competition which held in from 7-8, December 2008 at the Murtala Mohammed Library Complex, Kano.The top three winners last year were by Hauwa Memorial, Funtua, Katsina State, Government Girls Computer Secondary School, Roni, Jigawa State and Government Arabic Secondary School, Jama’are, Bauchi State, first, second and third respectively.

The two day event will start with an opening session to be chaired by Dr. Bala Mohammed, the Director of Kano State Social Re-orientation Agency which the Special Adviser to the Sokoto State Governor on IT will be Guest of Honor. The keynote address will be delivered by Dr. Bashir Galadanci, the Special Adviser to the Kano State Governor on Education and Information Technology. Other Guest include the National President of the Information Technology Association of Nigeria (ITAN), the Citizenship Manager of Microsoft Nigeria, Hajia Jummai Umar-Ajibola, the State Commissioner for Education, the Zonal Controller, Nigerian Communication Commission (NCC), Alhaji Adamu Amshi who will chair the second session , the Vice Chancellor of the Kano University of Science and Technology, Prof. Ibraheem Shehu Diso who will chair the final session and the Chairman House Committee of Education, House of Representatives, Hon. Faruk Lawan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *